Home Page
Log in


Welcome to our Governors' section. 

Please find below details of how our Board of Governors is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

We have also provided a Register of Governor Interests and an Annual Statement of Issues for your information.

Crowcombe VA and Stogumber VC Church of England federated Primary Schools Board of Governors 2017 – 2018


The Board of Governors role is to promote the schools’ long term development by setting a strategic framework for school improvement and oversee its implementation, to set the schools values, aims and objectives; to allocate and control the schools’ budgets; monitor and evaluate the schools’ progress; shape and to act as a ‘critical friend’ to the Headteacher by support and challenge.


This Board of Governors re-constituted in September 2015, but many governors had been on the Governing Body before this date.


Members of the Board of Governors for 2017-2018 are:



Mr Trevor Simpson

Appointed Parent Governor – Stogumber in October 2015.
His term of office expires in September 2019.  



Mrs Julie Norman

Headteacher, appointed governor in September 2014






Mr Roy Harbour.

Re-appointed governor in June 2014 by the Diocesan Board of Education as a Foundation Governor.
His term of office expires in June 2018.   Mr Harbour has declared no external business interests.



Mrs Fee Bellamy

Appointed Parent Governor – Crowcombe in  September 2015.
Her term of office expires in August 2019.



Mrs Gail Webster

Appointed Co-opted governor by the Board in December 2015.
Her term of office expires in December 2019.



Dr Chris Leigh.

Appointed by the Diocesan Board of Education as a Foundation governor.







Kate McCrimmon

Appointed co-opted governor September 2016 by the board. 
Prior to this was associated member for 4 months.







The Reverend Prebendary Angela Berners-Wilson

Appointed ex-officio governor by the Diocesan Board of Education October 2016.



Mrs Alexis Tisshaw

Appointed Clerk in September 2006.








The following people served on the Board of Governors:

Rev. Ben Flenley (resigned September 2017)

Mr Mike Griffiths (resigned August 2017)

Mr Dylan Chip (resigned August 2016)

Mrs Jo Hobbs (resigned August 2016)

Mrs Lorrie Thomas (resigned October 2016)


The Board of Governors holds five Full Board of Governor meetings per
academic year, supported by the following main Committees:

Performance Committee – chaired by Mrs Kate McCrimmon

Business & Finance Committee – chaired by 

Behaviour & Safeguarding, Health & Safety Committee – chaired by Mrs Gail Webster

and the following sub-committees and panels:

Admissions Committee

Mrs Fee Bellamy

Mr Roy Harbour

Mr Trevor Simpson

Mr Tim Pollock (Go Admissions)


Church School Distinctiveness panel

Mr Roy Harbour


Discipline Panel



Complaints Panel

Mr Fee Bellamy

Mr Roy Harbour



Pay Committee

Mr Roy Harbour



Performance Management Committee

Mr Roy Harbour

Mr Trevor Simpson

Mrs Kate McCrimmon


Appeals Committee (from Pay)

Convened from current Board of Governors as and when neccessary

Appointments & Dismissal (of teachers) Panel

Convened from current Board of Governors as and when neccessary


Board of Governors 2016-17 Business Interests:

Trevor Simpson - No interests declared

Kate McCrimmon - No interests declared

Fee Bellamy Outposts Ltd – outdoor activities

Gail Webster - No interests declared

Chris Leigh No - interests declared

Josh Wedderkopp - No interests declared

Julie Norman - No interests declared

Roy Harbour - No interests declared

Ben Flenley - No interests declared